| External user |
Users can be grouped into external and internal users. A user can be defined as an external
user by enabling the External user option. External users cannot see or
access any documents other than those specifically marked for them. By default, they do not
have permissions to view any documents. For example, you can define your customers as external
users and grant them access to customer-specific documents in the document vault.
As stated above, external users do not, by default, have permissions for accessing any
documents. To share a document with an external user, access must be explicitly granted in the
permissions of the document. Note: Object permissions are updated as an
asynchronous background task. Object permissions can be updated when, for example, a named
access control list, a user, a user group, or the value of a pseudo-user (such as a project manager) is modified. You
can monitor the progress of the task in M-Files Admin in the
Background Tasks section. For more information, see Monitoring background tasks.
|
| User account is disabled |
When the account is disabled, the user cannot access the document vault. Logging in to the
document vault has been disabled, but the user information is retained. The account can be
easily enabled again by unchecking this check box when necessary. For example, when you want
an employee's account to be disabled during her vacation for data security reasons.
|
| User cannot create documents or other objects |
The user cannot create documents or other objects in the vault but can, for example, read
them if provided with the necessary permissions.
|
| User cannot create or edit traditional folders |
The user cannot create traditional folders in the vault or edit existing traditional
folders.
|
| User cannot create or edit private views or notification rules |
The user cannot create or edit private views or private notification rules. Private views
and notification rules are visible only to the user who created them, whereas common ones are
visible to all vault users. |
| Full control of vault |
With this option, the user is assigned all administrative permissions in the vault.
|
| See and read all vault content (including deleted objects) |
Regardless of the permissions specified for a document or object, a user with this permission
can see and read all objects, including deleted ones.
|
| See and undelete deleted objects |
The user has the permission to restore documents and other objects marked as deleted.
|
| Destroy objects |
The user has the permission to permanently destroy objects.
|
| Force undo checkout |
A user with this permission can undo the checkout made by another user. For example, if a
user has forgotten to check in a document that others must be able to edit, a user with this
permission can check in the document. In this case, the changes made to the document during
the checkout will not be saved on the server.
|
| Change permissions for all objects |
The user has the right to change the permissions for any object that they are permitted to
see. You can edit the permissions for an object, for instance, remove the write permission to
a document from other users. Note: The user with this permission has the power to obtain edit
rights to documents that they would normally be able to only read.
|
| Change metadata structure |
The user has the permission to edit document vault metadata, such as add new document classes
or value lists. For example, if you want to change the Invoice document class so that the
Project property field must be filled in for each invoice, you can make the change if you have
this permission. Even if the user does not have the permission to do this, the user can still
add new metadata fields to individual objects using the metadata card. Note: With this
permission, users can see metadata structure items and other vault information that they
would not otherwise have permission to see, such as value lists, object types, and named
access control lists.
|
| Manage workflows |
This permission enables the user to create, edit and delete workflows in M-Files Admin.
|
| Manage user accounts |
The user has the permission to manage login accounts in the selected document vault. With
this permission, you can, for instance, add or remove users from the document vault.
|
| Manage common views and notification rules |
With this permission, you can create views visible to all vault users. You can also specify
common notification rules. You can create common views and notification rules in the classic
M-Files Desktop.
|